Alitalia – Story #2 Milan to New York

The second part of my Alitalia trip goes all the way to New York.

Story # 2 – Return Leg

I was on my way back to Boston after a great trip to Barcelona (post-lost luggage, Japanese woman robbery and reunion) and Alicante (I got offered a job). We were flying probably 39,000 feet over the Atlantic, when I notice a group of people gathered around a passenger’s seat. It was the year 2000, but had it been post-9/11 I am sure this would not have happened.

I unbuckled my seatbelt and went over to see what the fuss was about. My family would say I was ‘too nuff’, which means I was being too nosy. It turned out that they were buying glass rings from this woman, who had just launched her jewelry company. She was showing off the first set of rings she had gotten made in Italy. I could not pass up first dibs on these beautiful, unique pieces. I got a clear grey, smokey colored ring with a large rectangular design.

I loved my Italian glass ring and wore it all the time. It was such a conversation piece, too. Unfortunately after one crazy, funny conversation with my friend Georgia that turned into clapping and laughing, my ring broke and the pieces went flying. Luckily, I had gotten the woman’s contact information and I was able to get a replacement. This ring lasted a little longer, but eventually it broke.

Fast-forward seven years.

I was living in New York now, after Boston, Spain and Miami. My roommates, Nandi and Buki, were both graduates of the Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT). Buki was designing jewelry and I went with her to check out Bergdorf Goodman because they were doing monthly trunk shows to showcase new designers.

There I was in Bergdorf Goodman on the 2nd floor and I see ‘the rings’. I recognize them immediately. It was Yummi Glass. I was so happy. They made it into Bergdorf Goodman! I started to speak to the woman at the counter.

It went something like this:

Me: I love these rings. I used to have one a long time ago.

Her: Really, that’s wonderful. Maybe it’s time for a new one.

Me: Yes, I think so. (Pause)

Me: Um, excuse me. This might sound weird, but were you ever in a plane flying from Milan to Boston and selling these rings?

Her: Yes. That was a long time ago, but yes. Why?

Me: I was on that plane. I bought one of your rings from you. Do you remember it broke and I met up with you to get another one?

Her: Wow, that is crazy. That was when I just got started. I do remember you. My name is Allison. What’s your name?

###

Backstory: Allison didn’t normally do the trunk shows, but decided to do this one in New York on a whim. It was fate. I ended up getting another Yummi Glass ring. I still have it and I only take it out for special occasions.


Allison, the founder of Yummi Glass, has an extensive collection of hand-made glass jewelry, including a few rings, which I believe are still so beautiful, unique and special. Check out Yummi Glass rings here!

Featured Image: Me looking into an installation created by Jamaican artist Simon Benjamin of AllCourtesyof.com for MOLD: Designing Food Futures.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

